Thordata publishes the lowest residential proxy rates in our tracked pricing dataset at high volume, and the margin is not marginal: its terabyte package is $730 against $1,500 for the nearest subscription rival. The picture below 150 GB changed in August 2026, when DataImpulse entered the dataset at a flat $1.00/GB pay-as-you-go — cheaper than every Thordata package up to 150 GB, where the two tie, with Thordata pulling ahead again from the 350 GB step ($0.80/GB) upward.
A price that far below the market is a claim about the supply chain, so this review spends most of its length on two questions the pricing page does not answer: how long the traffic you buy actually lasts, and where the IP addresses come from. On the first, the vendor gave us a clear answer that the website omits. On the second, it declined to answer at all.
Key takeaways
- Fixed prepaid packages, not a per-GB meter: $2.00 for 1 GB, $18.00 for 10 GB ($1.80/GB), $75.00 for 50 GB ($1.50/GB), $150.00 for 150 GB ($1.00/GB), $280.00 for 350 GB ($0.80/GB), $730.00 for 1 TB ($0.73/GB) and $3,250.00 for 5 TB ($0.65/GB), with no VAT line shown (2026-08-11).
- The $0.65/GB headline is the 5,000 GB package rate, not a pay-as-you-go price — and the vendor states packages expire after one month, so that rate requires consuming 5 TB in thirty days.
- Traffic validity appears nowhere on the pricing page. The one-month term and the extensions come from the vendor by email, which makes them a courtesy rather than something you can hold them to.
- Scraping products are priced publicly and competitively: Web Scraper API from $1.00/1K results down to $0.50/1K, SERP API $1.20/1K down to $0.70/1K, Web Unlocker $1.30/1K down to $1.00/1K responses with 5,000 free.
- Customer vetting is documented — a published KYC policy describing multi-level review, compliance officers and video identity verification. IP sourcing is not documented at all, and the vendor declined to document it when asked, citing confidentiality.
- thordata.com/ethics, /ethical-proxies and /compliance returned HTTP 404 on August 11, 2026, and the privacy policy describes customers and site visitors only — no peers, partner apps or SDKs.
Pricing: fixed packages, and what the headline rate really requires
Most providers in our dataset sell you either a monthly plan or a metered per-gigabyte rate. Thordata sells neither. It sells prepaid packages of a fixed size, and the per-gigabyte rate falls as the package grows.
| Package | Price | Rate | What it takes to realise the rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 GB | $2.00 | $2.00/GB | Nothing — this is the entry point |
| 10 GB | $18.00 | $1.80/GB | 10 GB inside one month |
| 50 GB | $75.00 | $1.50/GB | 50 GB inside one month |
| 150 GB | $150.00 | $1.00/GB | 150 GB inside one month |
| 350 GB | $280.00 | $0.80/GB | 350 GB inside one month |
| 1,000 GB | $730.00 | $0.73/GB | 1 TB inside one month |
| 2,000 GB | $1,400.00 | $0.70/GB | 2 TB inside one month |
| 5,000 GB | $3,250.00 | $0.65/GB | 5 TB inside one month — roughly 167 GB every day |
The right-hand column is the part the marketing does not show you. Thordata's pricing page runs a promotional banner headlining $0.65/GB against a $1.05/GB regular rate. That $0.65 is not a pay-as-you-go price available to anyone who signs up; it is the unit rate of the largest package on the list. Buy the entry package instead and you pay $2.00/GB, which is three times as much and still cheaper than most of the market.
Because the steps are fixed, a buyer whose volume falls between two of them buys the larger package. Our cost tables quote the smallest single package that covers your volume, which is the conservative reading — at 500 GB that means the $730 terabyte package rather than stacking a 350 GB and a 150 GB package for $430. We quote the single-package route because it is the only one the pricing page documents.
| Monthly volume | Oxylabs | Bright Data | Decodo | IPRoyal | SOAX | Thordata | DataImpulse |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 GB | $100$10/GB | $40$4/GB | $35+VAT$3.50/GB | $52.50never-expiring $55.10$5.25/GB | $50+VAT$5/GB | $18$1.80/GB | $10Cheapest+VATnever-expiring$1/GB |
| 50 GB | $500$10/GB | $200$4/GB | $150+VAT$3/GB | $245never-expiring $257.50$4.90/GB | $200+VAT$4/GB | $75$1.50/GB | $50Cheapest+VATnever-expiring$1/GB |
| 100 GB | $500$5/GB | $400$4/GB | $275+VAT$2.75/GB | $490never-expiring $515est.$4.90/GB | $500+VAT$5/GB | $150$1.50/GB | $100Cheapest+VATnever-expiring$1/GB |
Each cell is the cheapest published route to that volume — the smallest covering plan or pay-as-you-go bracket — as of 2026-07-17–2026-08-13 (USD). Effective $/GB can exceed the sticker rate when a plan is under-used, and the 'Cheapest' flag is pre-VAT. Vendor pricing changes often; verify before buying.
Estimate your own monthly cost
| Provider | Est. monthly cost | Effective $/GB |
|---|---|---|
| DataImpulseCheapest+VATnever-expiring | $25 | $1 |
| Thordata | $75 | $3 |
| Decodo+VAT | $81.25 | $3.25 |
| Bright Data | $100 | $4 |
| SOAX+VAT | $125 | $5 |
| IPRoyalnever-expiring $137.75 | $131.25 | $5.25 |
| Oxylabs | $500 | $20 |
At 25 GB per month, DataImpulse is the cheapest at about $25.
The one-month clock
Nothing on the pricing page states how long purchased traffic remains usable. We asked, and the vendor told us on August 11, 2026 that the standard validity is one month, with extensions of one to three months — or longer — granted on request through customer support.
That answer is useful and we take it in good faith, but it is not a published term, and the distinction is the whole ballgame for anyone with irregular usage. A commitment on a pricing page binds a vendor. An assurance in an email binds nobody, survives no change of staff, and cannot be produced to a finance reviewer.
It also reframes the price list. At $0.73/GB the terabyte package is the cheapest route in our entire dataset — provided you burn a terabyte in thirty days. If your work comes in quarterly bursts, the honest comparison is not against another provider's headline rate but against traffic that does not lapse at all, which is IPRoyal's differentiator.
Price your usage pattern
| Provider | Total over 12 months | Effective $/GB |
|---|---|---|
| DecodoCheaper+VAT | $45 | $3.75 |
| IPRoyalnever-expiring | $66.12 | $5.51 |
Decodo is cheaper for this pattern: about $45 against $66.12 over 12 months, buying only when you need it.
Holding the 3GB plan every month instead would cost $135 and let 24 GB lapse unused — the waste never-expiring traffic avoids.
For this pattern, Decodo costs about $45 over 12 months.
Published rates as of 2026-07-17 (USD); Decodo's are pre-VAT. "Buying only when you need it" assumes no ongoing commitment between bursts; the held-plan figure is the same plan kept for the whole year. Verify before buying.
How it compares against the providers we track
At a fixed budget, Thordata buys more traffic than anything else in our dataset, and the gap is not subtle.
What your budget buys
| Provider | Traffic for the budget | Effective $/GB | Unspent |
|---|---|---|---|
| ThordataMost traffic150GB | 150 GB | $1 | $0 |
| DataImpulse+VATnever-expiringpay-as-you-go | 150 GB | $1 | $0 |
| Decodo+VAT50GB | 50 GB | $3 | $0 |
| Bright Datapay-as-you-go | 37.5 GB | $4 | $0 |
| SOAX+VATpay-as-you-go | 30 GB | $5 | $0 |
| IPRoyalpay-as-you-go | 28.6 GB | $5.25 | $0 |
| OxylabsBasic | 20 GB | $5 | $50 |
At $150 a month, Thordata buys the most traffic — about 150 GB.
Ranked by the published route that buys the MOST traffic; a tie goes to the cheaper rate. "Effective $/GB" is on what you actually spend, and "Unspent" is budget a plan step-up leaves stranded. Decodo's and SOAX's prices exclude VAT, so a VAT-liable buyer gets roughly 17% less traffic for the same budget. Published rates as of 2026-07-17–2026-08-13 (USD); verify before buying.
Two honest qualifications go with that table. The first is the expiry above: every Thordata figure assumes you consume the package inside its month. The second is that cheapness is not the only axis, and this site's cheapest residential proxies guide deliberately ranks Thordata below providers charging two to four times more, for the reason set out below. The full per-volume arithmetic across all providers is in our residential proxy pricing comparison.
The scraping products are priced — despite what we were told
When we asked Thordata for a per-request rate for its scraping APIs, the answer was that no accurate figure exists, because cost varies by target. That is true as far as it goes, and every provider's per-request cost does vary by target. It is also not what its own pricing pages say.
Fetched the same day, those pages publish complete tier tables:
| Product | Billing unit | Entry rate | Volume floor | Free allowance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Web Scraper API | Per 1,000 successful results | $1.00/1K (30K credits, $30) | $0.50/1K (3M credits, $1,500) | 7-day trial, 5,000 credits |
| SERP API | Per 1,000 responses | $1.20/1K (15K, $18) | $0.70/1K (1M, $700) | 7-day trial, 5,000 responses |
| Web Unlocker | Per 1,000 responses | $1.30/1K (10K, $13) | $1.00/1K (200K, $200) | 5,000 responses free |
We record the Web Scraper API's tier rate as a floor rather than a fixed price, because per-target rates sit above it: at the 150,000-credit tier, Amazon, Instagram, Zillow and YouTube text results are $0.83/1K while Facebook is $1.67/1K. JavaScript rendering is not billed separately on any of the three.
That puts Thordata in the middle of the field on managed scraping rather than at the bottom — cheaper than Bright Data's Web Unlocker at $1.50/1K, more expensive than Oxylabs' $0.25/1K floor for scraper results. Our scraping API versus proxy model shows where each route stops making sense.
Price your monthly volume
| Scraping API | Est. monthly cost | Per-1K rate |
|---|---|---|
| OxylabsCheapestfromper result | $12.50 | $0.25/1K |
| Decodo+VAT | $24 | $0.50/1K |
| Thordatafromper result | $50 | $1/1K |
| Bright Data | $67.50 | $1.50/1K |
At 50,000 requests a month, Oxylabs is cheapest — about $12.50.
At 50,000 requests a month, Oxylabs is cheapest — about $12.50.
Cheapest published per-1K rate for each API, with recurring monthly free tiers netted off (Bright Data 5,000/mo, Decodo 2,000/mo; Oxylabs' 2K is a one-off trial, not a monthly allowance). Oxylabs bills per successful RESULT and the others per REQUEST, so a 1:1 comparison assumes one result per request. Published rates as of 2026-07-17–2026-08-11 (USD); Decodo's exclude VAT. Verify before buying.
The reason we are spelling this out is not to catch anyone out. It is that a buyer who takes a sales answer at face value would conclude Thordata cannot be budgeted for, when in fact it publishes one of the more complete rate cards in the category. Check the pricing pages, not the reply.
What we could not verify: where the IP addresses come from
This is the section that decides the rating, so we will be exact about what we did.
Thordata describes its network as "100M+ real residential IPs from genuine users across 190+ countries" and told us that its pool is secure and compliant. We asked for the thing that would substantiate it: how the people whose connections make up the network opt in, whether they are compensated, and which partner application or SDK they install. The vendor declined, citing confidentiality, and pointed us to its acceptable-use policy.
That policy governs what customers may do with the proxies. It says nothing about how the addresses are acquired. Specifically, on August 11, 2026:
thordata.com/ethicsreturned HTTP 404thordata.com/ethical-proxiesreturned HTTP 404thordata.com/compliancereturned HTTP 404- The privacy policy covers customers and site visitors, with no mention of peers, partner apps, SDKs or compensation
- The acceptable-use policy enumerates prohibited customer activities and describes no acquisition process
We record this as unverified rather than repeating the vendor's assurance as fact, which is the rule this site applies to every provider — SOAX carries the same marker for the same reason. It is worth being precise about what that does and does not mean: this is an absence of documentation, not evidence that anything improper is happening, and nothing here alleges that it is.
But the absence is more conspicuous here than it would have been two years ago. Every provider in our dataset that publishes anything publishes something specific: Bright Data documents SDK-based opt-in with rewards, Oxylabs publishes an acquisition handbook and holds EWDCI certification, Decodo co-founded the EWDCI, IPRoyal names Pawns.app and the per-gigabyte rate it pays participants. When the FBI seized NetNut's domains over alleged botnet ties, the practical lesson for buyers was that "where do these IPs come from?" is a question with commercial consequences, and an unanswerable one is itself a signal. Our guide to ethical proxy sourcing sets out what a good answer looks like.
If you are evaluating Thordata at volume, put this question to their sales team in writing and keep the reply.
What is documented: customer vetting
It would be unfair to leave the compliance section there, because one half of it is genuinely documented — and better than several rivals.
Thordata publishes a KYC page describing a customer-vetting programme: multi-level vetting, direct assessment by experienced compliance officers, video identity verification where necessary, and the rejection or closure of applications that do not meet its standards. Those are vendor claims we cannot audit, but they are on the record, which is more than SOAX offers.
The gap is therefore specific rather than general. Thordata will tell you how it decides who may buy. It will not tell you how it acquires what it sells.
Features and vendor claims
| Dimension | Thordata |
|---|---|
| Claimed pool | 100M+ residential IPs across 190+ countries (vendor claim, counting method not stated) |
| Geo targeting | Continent, country, state, city — stated as no extra cost; no ASN or ZIP targeting listed |
| Sessions | Rotating and sticky; no maximum sticky duration stated |
| Protocols | HTTP(S) documented; SOCKS5 not stated on the residential product page |
| Claimed performance | 99.82% success rate, 0.41 s response, 99.9% uptime (the home page instead claims 99.99% uptime) |
| Trial | Vendor states 200 MB over 3 days, no card; 3 GB on request |
| Refunds | 7 days from first purchase, under 30% and under 2 GB used, non-crypto, once per customer |
| Traffic validity | One month per the vendor; not stated on the pricing page |
| Customer KYC | Published policy: multi-level vetting, compliance officers, video ID where necessary |
| IP sourcing | Not published; vendor declined to document it (2026-08-11) |
Two details are worth flagging for anyone building on this. Thordata's residential product page documents geo targeting down to city but lists neither ASN nor ZIP, so hyperlocal work — delivery-radius offers, ZIP-level ad verification — belongs with Oxylabs or Bright Data. And SOCKS5 is simply absent from the page we fetched; if your stack needs it, confirm it before you buy rather than assuming a gap in the documentation is a gap in the product.
- Lowest published residential rates in our dataset at every volume: $1.80/GB at 10 GB, $1.00/GB at 150 GB, $0.73/GB at 1 TB
- Entry cost is low — a 1 GB package is $2.00, against $11.25 for the cheapest committed plan elsewhere (DataImpulse's $5 intro block undercuts it on unit price)
- No VAT line shown on the pricing page, which widens the real gap for EU buyers against providers that add it
- Free trial with no credit card, and the vendor issues 3 GB on request against a 200 MB standard
- Complete published rate cards for Web Scraper API, SERP API and Web Unlocker, with free allowances on all three
- A published customer-vetting policy, which not every provider in this price range offers
- No published IP-sourcing or consent policy, and the vendor declined to provide one when asked
- Traffic validity is absent from the pricing page; the one-month term exists only in vendor correspondence
- The $0.65/GB headline requires buying 5 TB and consuming it within a month
- Fixed package steps strand budget between tiers — $50 buys the 10 GB package and leaves $32 unspent
- Refund terms are narrow: 7 days, under 30% and under 2 GB used, once per customer, first order only
- No ASN or ZIP geo targeting, and SOCKS5 is not documented on the residential product page
- The vendor's own uptime figures disagree between its home page and its product page
Verdict
Verdict
3.0/5
Use Thordata if your volume is high and steady enough to consume a package inside a month, price is the binding constraint, and you are able to get validity and sourcing answers in writing before committing a budget.
Choose something else if you need documented IP provenance, a published validity period, never-expiring traffic, ASN or ZIP targeting, or a refund window wider than seven days. The best residential proxies pillar ranks the alternatives, and cheapest residential proxies models what each budget buys under a stricter safety floor.
Thordata
Confirm the traffic validity period and ask for the IP-sourcing policy in writing — neither was published as of August 11, 2026
This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our tests and rankings are independent and never influenced by partners.
All prices above were fetched from Thordata's residential pricing, Web Scraper API pricing, SERP API pricing and Web Unlocker pricing pages on August 11, 2026, in USD. Trial size, traffic validity and extension terms are statements the vendor made to us by email on that date and are not published on the site; we label them as such throughout. Pool size, success rate, response time and uptime are vendor claims we have not independently benchmarked, and we have not run our own network tests against Thordata.